Making the Conversation Public and Talking to Friends

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Making the Conversation Public and Talking to Friends

For context I'm just going to be frank with it, I am an eccentric fuck. Currently I have Luciano Pavarotti blasting from a record player as I sit on the porch in my apartment complex overlooking my university. I have a ton of nordic art in my room, a gecko, decent sized fish tank, I'm 6'5" and wear a tie almost everyday. I don't really care how I am perceived in the private sense to the effect that I am blunt in almost all matters and have thus filtered fair weather friends from my life (honestly being unapologetically myself was one of the best decisions of my life) but for business/school I work to maintain a respectable demeanor. As I am a college student and with the political polarization happening in America currently you can gain an appreciation for how difficult this has become. My number one icebreaker with new people I meet is, "tell me your most controversial opinion". I do this because I absolutely despise prattle. The most common responses involve the abortion debate or some marxist ideology only an unworldly arts major can fathom. I constantly push people to break the boundaries of our indoctrinated 'proper conversation topics' spouting, "the only topic that offends me is the predominant culture of male genital cutting/circumcision in America". The former undoubtably swinging the conversation into my court had I had to push them.