Importance of retaining?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Importance of retaining?

What's the argument for doing this? I can't understand how it would "train" your skin into a taper. It seems like the only thing it'll do is prematurely dekeratinize the glans, which doesn't sound like something one would want before achieving coverage
    ​​​​

I would also like to know the answer to this question. I’ve been restoring consistently for almost 2 months now and wear a tugger 10-12 hrs a day (with gentle tension and following the 4 hr rule very well). I also retain when I go to bed until I wake up to pee in the middle of the night and if I wake up before my alarm, I’ll put the retainer back on until the alarm goes off. I’ve already started to notice a much shinier glans. I’m not sure it’s more sensitive yet and not sure if this is dekeratinization, but it hasn’t caused me any problems that I’m aware of. But if it could lead to problems, I’d like to know now!

Comment

I would agree with you, the purpose is to dekeratinize sooner than will happen through restoration. But whether one might want this to happen or not, depends upon the individual and how they weight or value different things. Many men retain and seem quite happy with it. Others do not, and also seem quite happy. Just do what you would like, personal preference.

Comment

I don't retain and my penis is fine. So I guess it's just personal preference?

Comment

Originally posted by perfect collar View Post
          I can't understand how it would "train" your skin into a taper.
          All of the body is always undergoing cell replication. So even non-restorers experience skin cell divisions to replace about A MILLION skin cells per day.