Pain when tugging

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pain when tugging

I have been using my tugger now for about 7 months with minimal progress. It seems that I can only tug for 3 to 4 hours before I have to remove it because of pain. Any ideas?

Well, I do not keep tension on for more than 1/2 hour, typically about 20 minutes. I have found that the amount of tension is far more important than the time under tension. So my suggestion is to tug for less time. Say 20 minutes, twice a day. I can also say that after 20 minutes, at times, my skin "feels like it needs a break". You might want to experiment with tension levels to find the amount of tension that gives you the best progress...

Regards

Comment

And a bit more perspective:

I started years ago with a device (one of the first commercial devices) that was very similar to the TLC. It soon caused a dull pinching pain which I recognized as the pain that comes from pinched blood vessels (those nerves can talk loud when they want to). I hung in, but I started to look around to see what else was available. I settled on a TLC. It too caused the same pain. I suspect that some of us are more sensitive to the pain that comes from occluded blood flow, a result from trapping skin between cones (and actually, from all methods to some degree). So I went to the canister method, and had no trouble at all. Could you be sensitive in the same way? I have no idea.

Greg's suggestion that you spend less time under tension is bound to work in terms of pain (although I got more sensitive to it for some reason, and couldn't stand using a compression device at all), as long as you can fit that schedule in your day, and he's certainly right about brief periods of tension vs hours. That was a proven finding during a study done years ago in the lab setting.